Skip to content

Tarot Readings and Intuition

March 21, 2012

Photo Credit

It appears I’m doing a smallish series on Intuition all of  a sudden…I hope you’re ready and excited!! I know I am!! :)

As yesterday was the first day of Spring, Ostara, I chose to do a special Tarot reading for myself to kind of glean some “thoughts” from my Guides and Love ( I think I have decided to call “God”, “Goddess”, etc. “Love” as that is the only human word I can seem to use to describe this Being without feeling wriggly and “off”.) about the current “state” of my life and where I am on my path. I wanted to know if I was following my path well and if there was room for improvement. I can tell this pretty generally by looking at my toes (did you know your toes can tell MUCH about what is going on in your life right now??? I’ll write more about that soon. :)), but I wanted more specifically.

My awesome sister-in-law (Thank you Sharon!!!) shared a book with me at Winter Solstice time called Tarot for All Seasons by Christine Jette. I’ve been reading and using it for special seasonal readings since. I really like it because it helps make a bit more sense out of the cards. For each season there is a specific spread, or way of laying the Tarot cards out, that will help you discover certain information about your life at the time. Spring is a season of Metamorphosis and change. So the spread I did last night was in the “shape” of a butterfly as butterflies symbolize metamorphosis, change, transformation. Spring is a time to start taking action on the dreams and plans you make over the dreaming cocoonish winter months.

The Metamorphosis spread included six cards, each representing a different aspect of your life…Health, Good Fortune, Confidence, Career, Relationships, and Metamorphosis or the promise of change. The first five cards tell your story of now. The Metamorphosis card describes how, if you attend to these ideas, the beautiful new you will emerge, spread your wings, and fly.

So as I did my reading I just kept getting more and more affirmation about who I now know I am. I am beginning to grasp, grab hold of, who I am; beginning to embrace her. The reading I did helped to strengthen this embrace, to help me see how it is solidifying and isn’t just a figment of my imagination. I am REAL.

This beautiful butterfly emerging from her cocoon is real.

I need to continue to keep on Trusting and moving forward. I no longer need to retreat into my cave, my ficticious safe place. I can keep taking steps forward and opening more and more to my life and Love (who we all really are), no matter how tentative my steps. I can Trust the feelings, inklings I have, my Intuition, about each of these things. And if I do???? My life will Thrive and Prosper in ways I never dreamed. I need to only Trust my self, my heart, BE who I AM, acknowledge my gifts and talents for what they are and not as faults, and use them as such.

All along, all the searching I’ve done to find myself, and I was right here all the time, waiting with a patient, loving, and knowing smile. :)

I know you have what it takes to find this about Your Self as well. :) I would be elated to help you, nurture you, along on your journey if you’d like.

I was always afraid of Tarot cards. I was taught they were dangerous and the devil. I no longer choose to believe this. They have helped me in so many ways and to understand and have affirmation about so many things in my life. They’ve helped me come back, remember who I am. They are a delicious tool for growth. There are so many different kinds, you need only find what works best for you; what seems to fit you.

The Tarot cards I found that light me up are called Shadowscapes by Stephanie Pui-Mun Law and Barbara Moore. I LOVE them. I love the art, the poetic descriptions, the subject matter (fairies and gods and goddesses and they are watercolors and the sea, mermaids, etc.) They are me and I knew it when I first saw them. :) Find something that sings to you. :)

There are also Oracle cards. Oracle cards work in the same way, there are just fewer cards in the deck. The Tarot deck is 78 cards. The Oracle decks I have seem to have around 44 cards in them. The first set of Oracle cards I purchased are called Medicine Cards: The Discovery of Power Through the Ways of Animals by Jamie Sams and David Carson. I truly believe animals speak to us, if we just pay attention to them. I will write more on this topic later as well. :)

I also own another Oracle deck called Divine Guidance by Cheryl Lee Harnish. These cards are created with Fractal Art and the art itself speaks to your very soul, literally. If you are on Facebook, Cheryl has another Oracle deck you can try out right on her page called Path of the Soul Destiny Cards. I check in with them everyday with the question…”What do I most need to know today?” Its as simple as that. :)

When purchasing cards, they usually come with a manual or companion which explains Tarot or the Oracle cards, different spreads you can try, and a description of what each card’s meaning is. This is only a suggested meaning. You need to check in with yourself, your Intuition, and pay attention to what it is telling you. This is the most important part. Often what I find is some particular aspect of the suggested meaning will stick out for me.

I am me and you are you. My Path is mine. Your Path is yours. You need to do what works for you, discover what you need to know, what your Path is. :)

Whew. :) I think that was great for today! What do you think??? :) I’d love to hear from you! Leave a comment and, if you’d like, receive a FREE 10 minute Tarot or Oracle card reading!

Wishing you an Enchanting  and Affirming day!!! :)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly permalink
    March 23, 2012 9:07 am

    Jessica, this is my favorite post ever! So beautiful! LOVE! Kelly

    • March 23, 2012 3:46 pm

      :) I’m finally writing what I’ve been afraid to write about!!! It feels AMAZING!!!!!!! :) Thank you for reading and COMMENTING!! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 119 other followers

